Skip to content

Update on San Diego Brady’s

October 23, 2007

Good Morning,

I just wanted to update you on the Brady’s.  So far, we are all out of immediate harms way.  Susan and Paul made it down to La Mesa with my parents last night.  We are still unsure of the status of their house as the Witch fire did roll through Rancho Bernardo, Rancho Penasquitos, Poway and over I-15 up to Del Dios Highway, which is relatively close to Susan and Paul’s house, but no news of it yet.  Mayor Sanders and the Chief of Fire and Chief of the Police staff are talking about possible re-entry for some of the evacuated areas, but nothing is set yet since the wind is so unpredictable.  The multiple teams of fire fighters managed to contain a couple of the smaller fires, but the Harris fire and the Witch fire have not shown any desire to slow down.  There are fire fighting teams from all over the state.  Many Northern Californian teams drove down all night on Sunday and then stepped up to the challenge and went out to help local teams fight fires.  My thanks and thoughts go out to each and every one of them.

Just as a comment on the San Diego community, I have to say that it is a community I am proud to be a part of.  There are over 25 shelters open, 19 of which still have capacity.  The largest one, Qualcomm, I believe has been completely volunteer and community based and the results have just been amazing!  As of now there are over 20,000 people that are staying at the stadium.  Over 300,000 people have been evacuated from their homes since late Sunday night.  My roommate and I went to the stadium last night to donate some bedding, pet food and toiletries, and the huge piles of donations was just astounding!  I have a couple pictures that I will get up on the web later today.  Not only have individuals come together to help out, but companies such as CostCo and Sysco pulled into Qualcomm yesterday to donate their supplies.

If you would like to help out, but don’t know how, you could always go to the San Diego Chapter of Red Cross: http://www.sdarc.org

Although I think the page has had high traffic because I was not able to bring up the page.  If you would like to have either live coverage, I have found the best webstream to be: http://www.kogo.com/pages/streaming.html

If you would just like to have a webpage that is constantly being updated, you can check out a variety of them, but: http://www.cbs8.com is the easiest one to access.

I want to thank those of you who have contacted me and asked about my family.  We all appreciate your concern and thoughts.

To all my fellow San Diegans, I hope that you and your families are doing well.  You are all in my thoughts!!

love,

megHs

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

