Skip to content

Oktoberfest, La Mesa Style

October 5, 2007

What? Now those wacky Californians are doing a German/Bahverian celebration with a Latin flare?  Well, that is how we roll here in So Cal…yo.  And for those of you not fluent in Spanish (or at least Spanglish), the city is phonetically pronounced: La (I think you could get that one) May-sa.

Actually, for those of you who don’t know, La Mesa is the city I was born and raised in (mark in on your maps as this is an important city to many of you now, I know.  If you would like to check out more about this little known gem, please feel free to go to:

http://www.lmvma.com/
OR
http://www.lmvma.com/lmv_oktoberfest.html
La Mesa Oktoberfest

At the moment, it is all about the Oktoberfest!  I am digging back to my German heritage here…which maybe why you “might” find me in a beer garden (that or the Irish, I always get confused which one pulls harder to get me there).  There are also loads of craft booths and the air is filled with the tantalizing flavors and aromas of bratwurst and sauerkraut.  And, apparently it is the largest Oktoberfest west of the Mississippi!! And, it has been running for 34 years.  Now talk about dedication!  There is even a place to show off your best version of the Chicken Dance.  Seriously, you guys should start looking into booking flights out here for next year.  You can stay with me in my luxurious 900 sq ft apartment that I share with my long time friend Kaitlin.  Now, how can you say no?!! =)

And before all of you worry-worts start to think that I am an alcoholic again, my parents go to this event every year and I used to go every year BEFORE I was in college and BEFORE I turned 21.  It is really quite an event.  I have not had enough time or internet over the past month to really get into my new life in San Diego, CA and my new job, but I promise that I will soon! I definitely have to tell you all about my wonderful boyfriend, whom I just celebrated 4 whole months of being together with…I know what you all are saying: Now how in the heck has she corralled him for that long?  Talent, people.  I have talent.  That, and the crazy guys says he loves me.

If you want to check us out, we just went to a beautiful wedding up in Petaluma/Sonoma/Napa area (Northern California, north of San Fransisco) that was out at a winery and it was beautiful!  You can check out my flickr.com pictures at: http://www.meghanis.wordpress.com and click on the pictures on the leftside of the page.  There are loads of pictures there, so set aside at least half of your day to cruise. =)

Ok, that is all for now.  But I will be getting back to writing very soon, never fear my fellow readers.  I thank all of you who still tag along with me on these verbal ramblings.

Have a great day!

love,

megHs

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

