Skip to content

Absolutely NO Will Power

February 11, 2007

Cookie Monster

When it comes to homemade chocolate chip cookies-or even not so homemade, I am a fan of the Safeway/Vons cookie selection. I just cannot say no! If it comes in a package that is already sealed, I have no problems, it stays in its little bag, and could rot for all I care, but once that cookie is brought out into the sunlight, it calls to me; it beckons me in its evil little chocolaty ways. I have even caught one or two with that devilish grin when they thought I wasn’t looking (but I took care of that right quick with a bit of soy ice cream and a couple of chomps). Darn them! They are sooo evil! And then! THEN, I get labeled, “the cookie monster” when it is CLEARLY the cookie’s fault (hey, if I can place the blame on an inadamant third party object, I am all for it!). I mean, it seriously whispers in my ear in its annoying little way making me painfully aware of its presence. What am I SUPPOSED to do? Just let it lie there, on the counter all alone while it is making faces at me?

I WILL NOT STAND FOR SUCH ABUSE!!

And down the hatch it goes, another succulent, sugary snack that has been not so sanely justified as a viable source of nutrients. ::sigh:: when will they make cookies healthy? I am still waiting…

Another item of which I have no self control over is the turning off of the TV.

Now, I have no problems being home, alone, and leaving the TV off. I could goes for days without turning the TV on for anything other than watching a movie, but if I happen to walk into the house, and the TV is on without a movie, my night is over. It is a very sad thing indeed when I think of all the productivity I could get out of a night (you know, like surfing through MySpace). But instead, I literally get sucked into the brainlessness of TVLand.

My roommate has no problems watching the boobtube for a bit, and then getting up and leaving, but what she fails to do is actually turn the TV when she leaves the room. Thus, I am stuck sinking lower and lower into the couch, with my brian turning to mush and my eyeballs drying out because I can seem to even remember to blink! It is a horrible, pitiful thing, this TV. And the worst part about it is my roommate has no idea the sufferings I go through after she leaves the room! I physically do NOT have the capability to reach over to the controller and push the off button! It is a good thing that more often than not, Whit has to come back upstairs for something and sees me melting into a pile of nothingness, and eventually will turn the darn thing off.

I suppose this is the punishment I get for not growing up watching TV (and you know what? When I have kids…I will probably do the same thing to them! Why stop the cycle with me? It is all about sharing the love). I even find infomercials enticing (but luckily do not have the power/strength to reach over to the phone to order that blender I never wanted, but now looks like the biggest MUST HAVE of the season!)…I tell you people, it is a crazy bazaar world we live in here, and I have always been amazed, even as a kid, by the people who can sit around and hold a conversation while the TV is on in the background. I am lucky if I can drool and breath at the same time when the TV is on!

tv.jpg

Anyway, I just thought I would share. =) Now you all are wondering why in the Hell you ever talked to me in the first place…have a great week!

Cheers!
megHs

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

