Skip to content

Bring You Up to the Present

January 16, 2007

Ok, so, a little bit of time has gone by, so let’s do a bit of catch up here.
THANKSGIVING:
For starters, let’s just say that megHs found out that when provoked, salmon actually DO swim upstream. To keep it short, and not too graphic, let’s just say that sushi for lunch, in combo with some nachos and a couple of beers for dinner is the recepie for possibly the worst 50 minute flight I have ever had in my life!
Situation: CRITICAL!! NEED BARF BAG, BUT THE ONLY ONE AVAILABLE IS IN THE SEAT POCKET OF THE PERSON NEXT TO ME (who I don’t know)!! WAIT, SHE HAS TURNED HER HEAD! QUICK GRAB, AND MEGHS SPRINTS DOWN THE SIDELINES! SHE…COULD…GO…ALL…THE…WA…nope, not quite.

Needless to say, I was not looked upon highly on this flight. Oh well, you can’t win them all!

But, once back on solid ground, had some great “Fam-Time.” My sister, my Mom, me AND my Dad were all early to dinner, the first time in, oh, 25-something years, and we completely threw Susan off. It was fantastic! Had a nice turkey dinner, with CC’s (Susan and Dad’s Mommy) green bean casserol. Met up with the SD Homiz for an awesome dinner downtown, along with some beverages at Henry’s Pub…where I ran into a girl I used to be close friends with in (and haven’t seen since) 8th grade! Crazy how small a large city can be!

FAST-FORWARD to almost Christmas time:
GOT PROMOTED!! WOOHOO!!! NO MORE ANSWERING ANNOYING PHONE CALLS! HELLOOOO…corner of a room? And this is what they call an upgrade…hmmmm.

CHRISTMAS:
More “Fam-Time.” This was a short weekend, as I had to actually fly back on Christmas day (those darn Jews who own my compan! Kidding!), and to be perfectly honest, it was probably the best day to fly! But, had a relaxing Christmas-Eve dinner with Susan (didn’t catche her off guard this time), and opened presents at around 10am (still too early for my poor little sis!), and then just hung around for the day.

Susan’s Xmas Tree

FAST-FORWARD to NEW YEAR’s EVE weekend:
VEGAS BABY!! A crazy group of 10 girls all piled into 2 hotel rooms at the…are you ready for this? HOOTER’s HOTEL. Yes, they have a hotel in Vegas. And it has got to be the SWEETEST weekend I have had in quite awhile. For the entire weekend, with food, flight, room, drinks included, I spent less than $450 for that Saturday/Sunday/early Monday weekend!! Which, in Vegas terms for the New Year’s, is nothing!
Basically, we started thinking about this weekend at the end of August, and got a sweet deal on the rooms. When we got to Vegas, we lucked out by getting 2 adjoining rooms with double beds in both rooms, and were able to check in right then and there at 9am! The fun began…the last girl, O’Malley, showed up at about 1:30pm…she and I discovered the wonders of the 1/2 yard Margaritas, and took a jaunt down the strip.
We then headed over to the Hard Rock/Body of English club (and got in for free), where they played AWESOME music all night long…and we would know! Next day, we meander, watch the Charger game in a bar, start looking for a place to fit 14 of us for dinner…Limore, a girl in the group makes a side comment to one of the restuarant managers (not knowing that he was a manager) about our disappointment in the level of quality in the food, specifically the buffalo wings, and manages to get us HOOKED up for the night with SUPER discounts on the dinner/bar and free drink tickets all around! All around, an AMAZING time!
OH! and when in Vegas next…stop by the Hooter’s Hotel, and ask for a “Nipper.” It is the best drink EVER, and will knock you on your bum faster than anything else you have ever tried!

New Year’s Eve Crew

FAST-FORWARD to my Lil Sis FINALLY turning 21 on Jan 7th.
I went home this past weekend to take Laur out for her first Downtown San Diego adventure and ran in not only to her friends, but randomly mine as well. Though, my friends didn’t see me until Lauren was up on a piano having a birthday song sung to her in front of the entire bar. I recommend the “Shout Bar” to anyone looking for a fun, sing-a-long kind of time in DownTown.
Then, we went out for dinner the next night out in Coronado at Miguels where Laur stole my Mango Margarita (watch out….she is a margarita stealer!!), and we had a nice, almost relaxing dinner. Patio dinners, even with heaters, in low 50-high 40 degree weather is just not ok.

Lauren’s First Cosmo

So, that pretty much brings you up through the past couple of months to where I am now…waiting for the SuperBowl so that I can go back to San Diego!! Watch out SD!

So, how is everyone else doing? I am in the process of actually sending out Christmas cards…via email…I will get there, sometime soon!

Cheers!
megHs

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

